Posted in Car Accident on October 14, 2015
The term “distracted driving” covers any activity that takes your attention away from the road. According to the Colorado Transportation Authority, drivers with diverted attention are increasingly causing accidents, with a 9 percent hike in distracted driving accidents reported between 2008 and 2013. It has become such a problem that the Colorado State Patrol recently rolled out a special patrol to look for distracted drivers on the road, as reported by the Denver Post.
It’s easy to think that those few seconds spent changing a radio station or texting don’t matter, but a lot can happen in that span of time when you’re not looking at the street or other cars while traveling at a high speed. Driver Andrew Huerena learned that lesson the hard way when he collided with another driver, Kimberly Henderson, who was driving with her nine-year-old son in Lakewood. Henderson’s son survived, but the 51-year-old mother was killed because Huerena lost control after hitting a bump while adjusting his radio, as noted by CBS Denver.
Anything that takes your eyes and mind off the road and your surroundings is considered a distraction, including:
Currently, texting while driving is completely illegal in Colorado, and you could end up with a $50 fine just for your first offense. Drivers under 18 can’t use cellphones at all, even if they have hands-free models. Regardless of your age, it’s important to remember that any form of distracted driving can result in a deadly accident, and that’s one mistake you can’t undo.
If you’ve been injured in an auto accident caused by a distracted driver, you might be entitled to compensation under Colorado law. Seek prompt medical attention even if you don’t feel any pain because injuries from accidents can appear days or even a week or two later. Keep copies of all your costs related to the accident, including medical bills, damage to your vehicle and documents from your employer that show time lost at work. Don’t give information to the other party’s legal team or insurer; anything you say can be used against you later when it comes to settling your case or going to court.
You don’t have to go it alone if you’re a victim of a distracted driver. Contact Zaner Harden Law by calling 303-563-5354 for experienced legal help today. Learn more at: www.zanerhardenlaw.com.